Friday, October 12, 2012

Webinars: Church Gardens and Food Banks; Poverty and the Elections; Educating Peers and Legislators about Wealth and Race Gaps

The National Council of Church's Poverty Initiative invites you to three upcoming trainings designed to sharpen your skills as a Christian advocate. The trainings are in a webinar format, but you can simply participate by conference call if you do not have a computer. Please sign up and forward this email to invite friends. 

Sharing the Harvest: How Your Church Garden Can Benefit Food Banks Wednesday, October 17    1:00-2:00pm EDT/10:00-11:00am PDT

You Can Make Poverty a Priority in the 2012 Election
Thursday, October 18     2:00-3:00pm EDT/11:00-12:00pm PDT

Until All Are Fed: How to Educate Your Peers and Legislators about Wealth and Race Gaps in Access to Nutritious Food 
Tuesday, October 23    1:00-2:00pm EDT/10:00-11:00am PDT -

Join the NCC Poverty Initiative's Network by signing 
to cut poverty in half from 2010 to 2020

What is a webinar? 
A webinar is a conference call combined with an online presentation. The online component allows for interaction through live polling and live chat. Once you register, we'll send you login and call-in information.

What do I need to participate?
To participate in the conference call part, you just need your phone. If you want to join the online event, you'll need a computer or mobile device with internet access. We recommend you plan to log in a bit early and test your software ahead of time to make sure you have everything you need to view the webinar. Along with the login details, we'll send you info so you can test your system.

Does it cost anything?
The online portion is free. To participate in the conference call, the standard call-in option will cost one hour of a U.S. long distance phone call. We understand this can present a hardship for some people and we are committed to making these opportunities accessible to all. If you want a toll-free option, email the NCC Poverty Initiative and they will send it to you.

No comments: